English| മലയാളം

Malappuram is a municipality in Malappuram district. It serves as the administrative headquarters of Malappuram district. Malappuram, in malayalam, means 'On top of the hills'. The district is divided into 6 Taluks (Ernad, Nilambur, Perinthalmanna, Tirur, Ponnani and Tirurangadi). Malappuram is situated 50 km southeast of Kozhikode and 90 km northwest of Palakkad on the Kozhikode (Calicut) - Chennai road (NH 213). It joins NH 47 in Palakkad.